8 years and red marks

It was our 8th anniversary yesterday. We celebrated by going out for ice cream to the place we were supposed to go on DH’s birthday before all the craziness happened. 

It doesn’t seem like much but it was a good day. 

This was the first time DH had been out of the house other than for the hospital or follow up Dr. appointments. So that was a big deal for us. Also it was his first time eating out. Even though it was just ice cream, after two weeks on a purée diet I’m sure it was nice for him to eat anything outside the house. 

He’s finally able to eat semi solids now without any real difficulty. He can walk around without much pain. His pain level was a 4 out of 10 this morning for the first time since going to hospital (it has hovered around 8 for a while now). So he is on the road to recovery. The skin is still raw in places so he has to keep up the wound care and just be careful about infections. But overall he is almost normal and we are both immensely grateful. 

So going out for his favourite ice cream was a perfect anniversary celebration. We aren’t big celebration people so this was just right. 

The funny thing is both sets of parents made a bigger deal of our anniversary than we did. It’s cute that they care so much. 

This morning I decided to wear a dark red lipstick to work. As I was leaving for work, he was still sleeping. I gave him a big kiss on the cheek. I told him to make sure he washed his face when he woke up since it had a nice red smacker on it. He said ok and I left. 

A few hours later he calls me. “I feel better except I have this weird red mark on my left cheek.” I played along. “Do you? Does it hurt?” 

“No. I put some of the ointment on it. Hopefully it will get better.”

I played along a bit longer then I began to realize he was being totally serious and had no idea what it was. I told him to try to rub the mark.

“Oh is it lipstick? …I hate you!”

Apparently he had no memory of me kissing him goodbye this morning. He even showed his parents the new ‘mark’ and still nobody clued in. 

We were both laughing so hard at the stupidity of it all. But poor guy has been so worried about the hives he just assumed it was another skin reaction.  

Suffice to say I will be doing this again soon just for kicks. 

God I love this man to pieces and I am so lucky to have him. 

One thought on “8 years and red marks

Leave a Reply

