Bronchoscopy

The bronchoscopy went well yesterday. I was the first apt of the morning and was in and out in about 2 hours. 

I don’t remember anything about the procedure. So the sedatives did their job well. Afterwards the doctor said that everything looked good. She sent in the sputum she collected to be cultured and I won’t know the results for a few weeks. 

But for now all she said was she noticed some narrowing of the bronchioles in the bottom of my left lung. This causes mucus to collect and makes it hard for me to cough it out. Hence the constant wheezing. The culture will tell us if there is any residual bacteria in there that needs to be dear with. But likely it will come back clear. 

Long term, there isn’t much that can be done. Other than maintain an active lifestyle and take antibiotics when I get a lung infection. 

As for how this will impact my life. It shouldn’t. I should carry on and it should not affect me much. Even pregnancy will be fine. From the lung perspective anyway. So all is well on the lung front. 

Recovery from the procedure was longer than I expected. They did warn me it would be 24hours recovery. But I thought I would be up and about sooner. When I got home I napped the sedatives off. Then I was hit by a fever. The paperwork I got on discharge did mention I could get a fever. And so I was down and out for the rest of the day with chills. By about dinner time I started to feel the fever break. 

I feel 100% this morning. So literally 24 hours later. I guess when they tell you it takes 24 hours. Listen to them. I thought I’d be able to get some errands or at least reading done while I was recovering. But no such luck. 

Oh well. I’m back at work today. And back in track with this cycle. 

3 thoughts on “Bronchoscopy

  1. Hi, I found your blog after searching for success stories of FETs with thin linings. I’m prepping for FET right now with Hannam Fertility and am close to cancelling cycle #2 because my lining just won’t get over 6.0.
    I just wanted to let you know that you are not alone, though I completely understand that it feels that way. My fingers are crossed for you that your lining responds and you can move forward with transfer this month. I’ll be checking back for updates 🙂 All the best to you, good luck!

Leave a Reply

