#MicroblogMonday: Random shit I think about

michaelphelpsspermegg

Image Source

How may embryos will we get?

The ED (I feel like I should name her, is that weird?) has an egg lot of 7 mature eggs.

DH’s swimmers have literally never fertilized an egg before. Of course, all his stats are great and there is no reason to believe they are not  up to the task. But do they need like a practice egg or two to get it right?

Obviously not all eggs fertilize. And not all that fertilize grow to viable embryos for implantation. But I wish there was a statistic that could tell me how many we can expect to see. The clinic will use ICSI to encourage fertilization. I think the standard stat is that this results in a fertilized egg 75% of the time. DEB USA guarantees that we will have at least one viable embryo to transfer. The coordinator at the clinic said that she has never seen less than two embryos result from a DE lot that came from DEB USA.

I am hoping for at least four, but will be content with three. In my head the magic number of IVF cycles before I will give up trying is three. I figure after 3 tries with good embryos and (hopefully) a decent lining if it isn’t working then it wont work at all and we need to move on. So I would like to have at least three good embryos to give this our best shot.

Here’s hoping.


Microblog_Mondays

Want more #MicroblogMonday? Check out StirrupQueens

 

6 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday: Random shit I think about

  1. I can imagine how stressful this is! That’s the thing about infertility – there is not a single thing that is the same for everyone. So hard to gauge what to expect, where to go, and what choices are most likely. I hope you have at least a couple Michael Phelps-ish spermies!!

Leave a Reply

