Crowdfunding for IVF?

DH called at lunchtime, as he normally does, and asked if we wanted to crowdfund our IVF.

Huh.

To be honest I never really thought about it. But it does seem pretty appealing. We reach out to friends and family and through social media try to solicit funding for our IVF cycle this year.

The skeptic in me seems to think it highly unlikely that we would find any friends and family that would want to just give us their money. I mean wouldn’t they spend their money on something that would benefit them or their own family. I find it really hard to believe that anyone would want to part with their money to allow DH and I to have a chance of adding to the global population. But DH seems to think that people might be more generous that I give them credit for.

That also means I have to become a bit more public about my journey. Not entirely a bad thing. I have always thought about just being open and public about what we are going through. But then I also have that nagging feeling of what will people think. I don’t know why it bothers me, but it does. I don’t like the thought of other people judging me based on our struggles. I am perfectly content with my situation and am dealing with it as best I can. But still I don’t like the idea of other people talking about me.

It has a lot to do with the community I grew up in. No one talks about infertility, so when it happens its more like gossip. Psst…did you hear that so and so is having trouble conceiving. So and so has been married 5 years and still no kids. Etc etc. It is beyond annoying and I try to just stay away from such conversations.  It just seems silly the more I think about it. By avoiding talking about it I am just adding to the stigma, rather than trying to address the issue.

There is an almost liberating feeling that will come with just opening up about our journey. So I am honestly seriously considering it. I told DH he can look into it starting a crowdfunding campaign. Lets see where it goes from here.

 

One thought on “Crowdfunding for IVF?

Leave a Reply

