#notinmyname #prayfororlando

I am not an American. I do not live in a country where I have a ‘right to bare arms’. So I cannot even begin to understand why so many still think that it is necessary to have the right to be able to purchase an AR-15 along side bread and milk. But until last year in America, you could. You still can purchase a variety of guns at your local Wal-Mart. You may have to fill out a few forms, or just skip that whole process by going to a gun show for your ammunition purchasing needs.

When a person shows outward signs of aggression, or being ‘not quite normal’. Most people just ignore it or avoid it. I am guilty of that too. I walk by a few everyday on my way to work. They are sitting there, talking to themselves, or yelling at something or other. No one approaches them or offers them any help. Then when something like Orlando happens everyone is shocked. How could this happen? Didn’t anyone notice? What if they did something about it?

Needless to say, the Orlando Massacre has me reeling. It is difficult to comprehend how this could happen. So many factors all lead up to this perfect storm. And I really do hope that more is done to prevent this from happening again, rather than trying to place blame or letting anger dictate the reaction.

This post showed up on my Facebook feed yesterday. The words hit home for me, so I want to repeat them here:

“How about we treat every young man who wants to buy a gun like every woman who wants to get an abortion — mandatory 48-hr waiting period, parental permission, a note from his doctor proving he understands what he’s about to do, a video he has to watch about the effects of gun violence, an ultrasound wand up the ass (just because). Let’s close down all but one gun shop in every state and make him travel hundreds of miles, take time off work, and stay overnight in a strange town to get a gun. Make him walk through a gauntlet of people holding photos of loved ones who were shot to death, people who call him a murderer and beg him not to buy a gun.
It makes more sense to do this with young men and guns than with women and health care, right? I mean, no woman getting an abortion has killed a room full of people in seconds, right?”

But then again I am not an American. So what do I know.

Leave a Reply

